Is it LEGAL? Traveling question. - Basketball Forum : Professional and College Basketball Forums
BasketballForum.com is the premier basketball Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2012, 05:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Rep Power: 0
JordaNeal has disabled reputation
Is it LEGAL? Traveling question.

BEFORE dribbling can you toss the ball over your defender's head to start your dribble?

I had the ball at the top of the 3 point line, tossed it over my defender's head (BEFORE THE DRIBBLE) and then legally dribbled to an assist. On the court everyone thought that it was a travel, but before the dribble does it even matter if you throw it to yourself? Someone who actually knows this rule please clarify.

-Jordan
JordaNeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-18-2012, 05:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
All-Star
 
e-monk's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7,533
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Rep Power: 3520464
e-monk has a reputation beyond repute e-monk has a reputation beyond repute e-monk has a reputation beyond repute e-monk has a reputation beyond repute e-monk has a reputation beyond repute e-monk has a reputation beyond repute e-monk has a reputation beyond repute e-monk has a reputation beyond repute e-monk has a reputation beyond repute e-monk has a reputation beyond repute e-monk has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Is it LEGAL? Traveling question.

you were at a full stop with established possession of the ball? if so sounds like you passed it to yourself
e-monk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 10:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Rep Power: 0
JordaNeal has disabled reputation
Re: Is it LEGAL? Traveling question.

Yes. Didn't dribble yet.
JordaNeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 08:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Legend
 
Pacers Fan's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bloomington, Indiana
Age: 23
Posts: 16,529
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Rep Power: 21474865
Pacers Fan has a reputation beyond repute Pacers Fan has a reputation beyond repute Pacers Fan has a reputation beyond repute Pacers Fan has a reputation beyond repute Pacers Fan has a reputation beyond repute Pacers Fan has a reputation beyond repute Pacers Fan has a reputation beyond repute Pacers Fan has a reputation beyond repute Pacers Fan has a reputation beyond repute Pacers Fan has a reputation beyond repute Pacers Fan has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Is it LEGAL? Traveling question.

Passing to yourself is a travel, no matter where it takes place. You could toss the ball up in the air, take two steps, and catch it, and it's still a travel. If those feet move without the ball and without it being a rebound, in another player's possession, or a loose ball, it's a travel when you catch it.
__________________
Indeed.
Pacers Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 09:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Rookie
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Rep Power: 0
MarksHobbies12 has disabled reputation
Re: Is it LEGAL? Traveling question.

Yeah, it sounds like a travel. I think the only way you could make a case is if the defender somehow touched the ball as the pass was being made.
__________________
Mark,

Fan of basketball my whole life

My Free Guide: 7 Mental Tips In Basketball That You MUST Know
MarksHobbies12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 09:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
All-Star
 
omer51's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9,034
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Rep Power: 1521473
omer51 has a reputation beyond repute omer51 has a reputation beyond repute omer51 has a reputation beyond repute omer51 has a reputation beyond repute omer51 has a reputation beyond repute omer51 has a reputation beyond repute omer51 has a reputation beyond repute omer51 has a reputation beyond repute omer51 has a reputation beyond repute omer51 has a reputation beyond repute omer51 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Is it LEGAL? Traveling question.

if i'm not wrong you can't move both of your feet before the ball hit the ground.
__________________


Sonics
omer51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:19 AM.



User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2002 2013 BasketballBoards.net.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1