Professional and College Basketball Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been hearing that the 2006 class of high schoolers is loaded while the 2005 class is rather pedestrian. I was wondering if some of the experts could offer some perspective on this, as well as comparing them to some recently strong classes (of which 2001 and 2003 come to mind). Thanks.

·
just foul
6,913 Posts
Well I'm no expert, but the 2005 class lacks a dominant NBA prospect big man. The best big men for 2005 are Richard Hendrix (6'8 250), Amir Johnson (6'9 210) Josh McRoberts (6'9 220? - going to Duke).

The 2006 class has Oden (possible #1 overall pick), 7'1 Jason Bennett, and 6'11 Mitchell Carter.

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks RebelSun, I did not mean to imply that I was only looking for the "expert" opinions. What I should have said was I wanted some thought out analysis, and comparing the top big men as you did is information I would like to have. Do you happen to have an opinion on whether each of the 06ers you mentioned would all rank above each of the 05ers? Or is the potential of those top 3 06ers (as a group) better than that of the 05ers?

·
Registered
311 Posts
How about the class of 2007
O.J. Mayo- rumored to be next LeBron
Taylor King- Already commited to UCLA?
many many others including Kevin love from my state Oregon, 6'8" post with wing skills and an arsenal of post moves

·
Registered
565 Posts
Re: 6'11 Mitchell Carter

No offense, Rebel Sun, but based on stats Mitchell rarely plays. JSonline (Milwaukee Journal-Sentinal)does not keep track if players are injured, so if he scored thirty points in one game, then missed the next two, he would be scoring ten points per. Anyway, he has scored only sixteen points all year. He plays on a terrific team in Rufus King, so that could be part of it.

·
Registered
565 Posts
Re: 6'11" Mitchell Carter