Professional and College Basketball Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Premium Member
8,802 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
From Jerome Williams...

Dear Bulls Fan,

I'm writing to say hi and to thank you for your support this season. I've always loved the intensity Chicago fans bring every game, and I love the electric atmosphere here in the United Center. Chicago fans are regarded as the most devoted in the league, and I couldn't be happier to be playing for you like a "Junk Yard Dog."

First, you're probably wondering where I got that nickname. It was given to me my rookie year by two veterans in Detroit--Rick Mahorn and Grant Long. They liked my hard work and tenacity on the court, and the name just stuck. As a rookie, I didn't have much choice and it has followed me ever since.

After arriving in Chicago, I was surprised at the level of talent here--especially from Eddy, Tyson, Jamal and Kirk. My main focus has been showing these kids how to learn the game and utilize all that talent. There's so much more to being a successful NBA player than just basketball. When you're doing this as a full-time job you have to treat it that way on and off the court. Basketball takes a lot of focus, a lot of drive and a lot of attentiveness--and that's what I've been trying to get accross to our young guys.

Outside of basketball I live a very simple life. I spend as much time as possible with my wife Nikkollette and our three children, Gabrielle, Giselle and Sherae. I read the Bible a lot and love spending time in the community helping kids, especially through the "Read To Achieve" program. For entertainment, I'm a huge fan of Harrison Ford ("Raiders of the Lost Ark" and "Star Wars" are my favorites) and Halle Berry (I loved her in "Boomerang").