Professional and College Basketball Forums banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

115,886 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
NEW YORK -- Hand it to Derrick Henry.

Alabama's bulldozer of a tailback with the super-sized workload won the 81st Heisman Trophy on Saturday night, capping a junior campaign in which he rushed for an SEC-record 1,986 yards -- previously held by 1982 Heisman winner Herschel Walker -- on 339 carries and scored a conference-record-tying 23 touchdowns.

"I'm just so thankful to have this trophy," Henry said. "It's just a blessing and an honor."

Henry finished with 1,832 points in the voting, followed by Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey (1,539), making it four second-place finishes for Cardinal players in seven seasons. Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson (1,165) finished third. Henry won five of six voting regions, with McCaffrey winning the Far West.

Henry was considered the favorite going in, though it didn't make it any easier for him.

"I didn't know at all," he said. "Them two guys were great contenders for the trophy. Deshaun, with how consistent and efficient he is at the quarterback position, all the success he had, I was kind of worried. Christian, breaking Barry Sanders' record, doing all the things he does, he's just unbelievable."

The moment right before the winner was announced was the toughest for Henry.

"My heart was about to bust out my chest. I thought I was going to have a heart attack," he said.

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield, who some thought should have been among the finalists sent to New York, finished fourth with 334 points. Navy quarterback Keenan Reynolds finished fifth with 180 points, the highest service academy finisher since Roger Staubach won it in 1963.

Henry is the first running back to claim the Heisman since 2009, when Crimson Tide running back Mark Ingram became the first Alabama player to win the award. In 2009, Ingram edged runner-up Toby Gerhart -- a Stanford running back -- by a single percentage point, the narrowest margin of victory in the history of the award. The Heisman went to quarterbacks in the five years that followed.
1 - 1 of 1 Posts