Professional and College Basketball Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Premium Member
27,241 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For all of you who bashed what Rudy did or didnt do as a coach I think we all know he was better for this team, not Frank.. Or you can believe what you want it doesnt matter really :laugh:

Atkins: We would have made the playoffs under Rudy

Asked afterward what would have happened if Rudy Tomjanovich hadn't resigned as coach Feb.2 and been replaced by Frank Hamblen, Atkins said: "We'd be a playoff team, without question."

"We played a lot more together (under Tomjanovich)," Atkins said. "The game was a lot easier. Right now, we're in the triangle offense, and people are not really familiar with it. Spacing's bad. You have no place to attack and drive. A lot of time we settle for outside shots. We're in Game 67, and guys' legs are tired and the shots are coming up short.

"Look at the amount of jump shots and the amount of bad shots we shoot and the amount of bad shots we shoot fighting the shot clock - then look at how we played when we ran pick-and-roll plays and were putting guys in spots where they were able to attack. We played a lot better. We're struggling to score 100 points now."

Asked why he didn't shoot more in such a critical game, Bryant said: "We're not experienced enough to go deep in the triangle where other guys on the floor know how to get me the ball in certain situations. They're still trying to figure out their rhythm and where their opportunities are going to come from."

So Bryant was asked if the Lakers would have been better off leaving Tomjanovich's pro sets in place rather than trying the triangle for the last 2 1/2 months of the season.