Professional and College Basketball Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
586 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
That says if a team re-signs a player, his salary does not effect the cap anymore. Just something I heard.

I would be :) if it was true.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,174 Posts
According to everything I have ever read or heard, that is not the case. But if you'd like to confirm for yourself, here's the link to the CBA: http://www.nbpa.com/cba/cba.html .

My understanding is that under the Larry Bird Rights, each team can elect and re-sign oone "franchise player" whose salary does not count toward the salary cap.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,174 Posts
Correction to my earlier post. I did a little research and discovered the following. Appearently, the Larry Bird Rights may apply to multiple players.

Larry Bird rights are the rights of a team to go over the salary cap to sign its own free agents. One provision of the Bird rule is that the player must be with the team for three years. If you sign a free-agent contract with a new team, the three-year count starts when you sign it. But this does not apply when a player is traded. When a player is traded, his Bird rights go with his.
 
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
Top