Professional and College Basketball Forums banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
17,143 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It seems pretty clear that the Bulls' first choice this offseason is to make a trade to get a star player. However, I think what's really necessary to make this a championship quality team is to get two star quality players (either by trade or by drafting guys who will be stars in the next couple of years-unlikely). One won't be enough. Why, two obvious reasons.

First, if we get a star, he's going to be an older player. Maybe not "over the hill" old, but old enough so we can't necessarily wait around for our young players to develop to their fullest. If we do, the older, current star will be going down just as the younger guys are really at their peak. That won't work... we need the most important guys on the team in their prime and at the peak of their abilities.

Second, the players we have, while good, are not yet (or in the next three years or so) good enough to put around a single star player and hope to win. Almost every championship eam needs two to three top level players. I can see Deng and Hinrich as the third guys (maybe the second in 5 years or so), but again, just getting one guy won't get us to where we need to go.

So the real question is whether the Bulls can get not just one, but two star quality players without giving giving up the complementary pieces needed to put around those two guys and make a champion.

My take is that the complementary pieces... those guys we can't afford to give up, are:
Kirk Hinrich
Luol Deng
Chris Duhon
Darius Songaila (because he's not going anywhere given the injury and because he's ok).
$6.5M Cap Space (enough to sign Joel Pryzbilla or maybe a combo of couple less heralded guys who can fill in the big man rotation)