Professional and College Basketball Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Player Salary Geek
4,380 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Assumptions:

1) The Clippers are looking to clear enough cap space to make a MAX offer to Kobe in July. This means that they MUST get rid of Richardson (either by trade or not offering him a qualifying offer), they MUST get rid of Dooling (either by trade or not offering him a qualifying offer) and they MUST trade $3 million in salary in some combination of Jaric, Drobnjak, Wilcox or Ely. AND none of these trades can return any salary in 2004-05.

2) The Bulls are serious about trading Crawford.
-----------------------

PORTLAND trades Wesley Person, Memphis' 1st round pick in 2004 and their own 1st round pick in 2005.
PORTLAND receives Jamal Crawford, Melvin Ely and Keyon Dooling.

CLIPPERS trade Quentin Richardson, Melvin Ely, Peja Drobnjak and Keyon Dooling
CLIPPERS receive Wesley Person, Marcus Fizer, Portland's 1st round pick in 2005 and Chicago's 1st round pick in 2005 (lottery protected)

CHICAGO trades Jamal Crawford, Marcus Fizer and their 1st round pick in 2005 (lottery protected)
CHICAGO receives Quentin Richardson, Peja Drobnjak and Memphis' 1st round pick in 2004.

BTW, Clippers release Fizer at the end of the year by not offering him a qualifying offer.

·
Registered
2,946 Posts
I'd have to say no. Dooling and Ely are unlikely to be significant contributors, and I have serious reservations about Crawford. I doubt he's worth two mid-first round picks.

Giving up the $14 million from Person's expiring contract makes it even worse.

Dan

·
Registered
8,925 Posts
Good trade, I think there would be a good amount of Bulls fans interested in it, and probably a few who arent. As a Bulls fan, I'd think about this seriously. Portland would do it definitely.