Professional and College Basketball Forums banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
3,180 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For those who have seen him play, can u compare him to a PG in the NBA...is he like Marbury

·
Registered
10,840 Posts
I have had the opportunity to see him play live in person in Las Vegas at the Big Time Tourney a couple of years back, and I watched parts of his game they showed on live TV back in November/December. I'm not claiming I am an expert at Telfair though, but I will say this from what I've seen: He seems to be a mix between Marbury and Iverson. Both are smaller guards, and both are very quick. I say Telfair is inbetween these two because he does have the pass-first mentality that Marbury has, but he doesn't have the strength of Marbury. Telfair pretty much has similar quickness to Iverson, but he also doesn't go down and force shots like Iverson.

·
Registered
2,127 Posts
How bout a quicker faster better dribbling version of Gilbert arenas.

·
Registered
1,487 Posts
Telfair is like Isiah Thomas. He is unselfish but at any moment can take a game over with his scoring. He is extremely quick, and simply can't be guarded off the dribble, and his court vision is tremendous. I can see the Marbury comparisons but he is definitely more unselfish, and I think he is more skilled at the same age, but Marbury may have been better, because he was so much stronger than every other point.

·
Registered
1,209 Posts
He is extremely talented at getting to the basket, but generally prefers to dish off the ball rather than taking a difficult shot, unlike a player like Iverson. I would say comparing him to a taller T.J. Ford would be fairly acurate.

·
Registered
14,070 Posts
i see tj ford with a jumpshot

·
Registered
1,487 Posts