Professional and College Basketball Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3,964 Posts
If I was an agent and Veal was my client, he wouldn't be a Net right now.

The Nets are wrong for him. Re-joining a team deep in bigs (Deke, Zo, Twin, Rogers, Martin, Williams, Krstic as a PF/C) didn't leave him with much opportunity to establish himself. When he's played this season, he's hustled, played an unselfish, solid floor game and flashed legit skills, and has been widely praised. Then he gets benched again and returns to scrub status. When he does play, he gets garbage touches and rarely gets to work in the paint, his natural space as an inside-out PF. He's 25 years old in his 3rd season. He's ready to move up in the rotation. If that's not going to happen on the Nets, he should move on to another team.

Watching Cardinal, the other F in Stein's article, Veal is actually the more talented player. Rather than return to the Nets, I would have recommended that Scalabrine find employment on a bad team or a PF-shallow team like the Wizards, Sonics or Celtics where he could receive the regular playing time necessary to establish himself.

·
Registered
193 Posts
Scallops

I've been vigorously supporting Brian since Nets drafted him, simply because I think he's a paisan. I want the Nets to keep him.

But if you've REALLY been observing, Scallops is not Cardinal. Not as aggresive, and not as confident.

But I'm hoping that now that the Nets have a coach that is actually paying attention, Scallops will get his opportunity in the right situation.

Right now, with Rogers contributing, Rodney is more valuable than Scallops.

·
Banned
58,028 Posts
Re: Scallops

Originally posted by <b>LesterLazlo</b>!
I've been vigorously supporting Brian since Nets drafted him, simply because I think he's a paisan. I want the Nets to keep him.

But if you've REALLY been observing, Scallops is not Cardinal. Not as aggresive, and not as confident.